License Suspended after DUI Arrest in Washington
If you are arrested for a DUI, the Washington State Department of Licensing will automatically suspend your driver’s license unless you request a hearing to contest the license suspension within 7 days of your arrest and the Hearing Examiner finds in your favor. The suspension can last for 90 days up to two years depending on the facts of your case and whether you have any prior offenses.
Many people wonder if they should request the hearing or wait for a criminal court date or if they need an attorney at this stage. An experienced DUI attorney can organize and present your case in the most favorable light to persuade the Hearing Examiner and avoid the immediate license suspension.
While there is a filing fee of $375 for the hearing, it is a chance at keeping your license and will allow your attorney to access the police report and to subpoena the police officer and question him under oath concerning the arrest. This early intervention and investigation may be beneficial to your criminal case even if you do not prevail at the Department of Licensing hearing. If you do not succeed at the hearing you may request an Ignition Interlock Driver License (IIL) that will allow you to drive a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for the period of your suspension or revocation.
License Suspended after DUI Conviction
The license suspension penalties and other legal liabilities only increase after a criminal conviction. A lawyer with experience in DUI litigation will help you get the best possible outcome in court as they will highlight legal flaws in the evidence, identify issues with police procedures and be familiar with successful defenses for your case. If you are convicted of a DUI in criminal court, the Department of Licensing may suspend your license for 90 days up to 4 years depending on the severity of the infraction and any prior offenses on your record. You will receive credit for any pre-conviction license suspension time you served after arrest. You may request an Ignition Interlock Driver License for suspensions from a court conviction.
Reinstatement of Driver’s License
When the period of suspension is completed you will need to have your license reinstated. You will be required to file proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) (which in many cases will be required for 3 years) as well as satisfying any remaining court requirements and fines and paying a licensing and reinstatement fee.
Do you have questions about your DUI case? We can help. Please contact email@example.com or (253) 236- 4079.
If you have questions about your case, please contact us at Info@brumleylawfirm.com or (253) 236-4079.